Home > Law & Technology > Tech Review – Blackberry 9700

Tech Review – Blackberry 9700

This is the first technology blog entry on this site, as I have previously focused just on California law. But as an attorney, keeping current with technology can maximize efficiency. First review, is of my Blackberry 9700 smart-phone. This is a brief review of the pros and cons of this device.

The 9700 was obtained fairly quickly after its release in early 2010. One year later, it is still a capable device. This was an upgrade from a Blackberry Pearl Flip and before that a Blackberry Pearl, so I do know the platform well. The 9700 is quick and responsive, and has received regular software updates since it was put into use in early 2010. It’s current replacement model is the 9780 which has pre-installed the new Blackberry OS 6. However, I have already installed and am using a leaked version of OS 6 which has the latest upgrades for the device. The following are the top 4 pluses and minuses of the 9700.

Pluses:
1. Email – nobody does mobile email better; it is instant push technology; easy to set up and keeps you in contact.
2. Keyboard – the blackberry keyboard is the gold standard for cell phone devices, and I have tried many others.
3. Battery life – in full every day use of calls, texts, email and web access, it lasts a couple of days of regular use.
4. Outlook Sync – works out of the box, period. This means seamless contact, calendar, memo and task management.
Cons:
1. Browser – the Blackberry browser has always been second tier; it is just not that fast or usable (though the new web kit browser in OS 6 is a vast improvement over the OS 5 version).
2. Screen Size – at about 2.4 inches, the screen size is small compared to other popular devices.
3. App Store – while it contains a wide variety of good apps, the number of apps pales in comparison to Apple or Android devices.
4. OS – Blackberry has somewhat been playing catch-up as far as a user friendly operating systems, including as above, the browser. OS 6 is a marked upgrade, but they need to push this further and faster.

Overall, the 9700 is a good smart-phone. If you are a Blackberry user, it is frankly one of the best by RIM. I still have and use mine, but have lately been exploring Android…but that will be a future topic!

All Rights Reserved © 2011 by Michael L. Mau, Esq.

The Mau Law Firm

Blog: https://maulaw.wordpress.com

Website: www.MauLaw.com

  1. September 15, 2011 at 9:40 am

    What do you think of iPhone?

  2. October 26, 2011 at 10:48 am

    The iPhone is a capable device, however our firm and myself utilize Windows, Blackberry and now Android, which I find can do everything necessary to run a small business.

  3. Victim
    March 26, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    When I installed the OS6 upgrade, I can no longer acces my media files. In need of remedy please! Or should I just give up n down grade?

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Media stored on your micro-sd card should not have been affected, and OS6 I believe can access the same media files as OS5. I did not have that problem when I updated, but no lonter use the BB9700 so cannot give any other ideas!

      • Victim
        March 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm

        So shall I downgrade or not? Coz I may take a picture or take a video or download something n it does not display it n neither can I acces it thru the phone but I can acces thru PC. OS5 didn’t have such glitches, why would an improvement?

      • March 27, 2012 at 10:26 am

        Up to you… I don’t use the BB9700 anymore, but I did stick with OS5 at the time so if you prefer that then a downgrade sounds appropriate. Good luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

